Saturday, March 14, 2009

Pavement Saw 2008-09 Chapbook decision

The info on this years chapbook contest and finalists--

The four finalists (in no particular order were):

Martin Arnold from Greensboro, NC
Andrew Zawacki from Athens, GA
Farid Matuk from Dallas Texas
Adrianne Kalfopoulou from Athens Greece

Second Place was Elizabeth Robinson whose chapbook will be published by Pavement Saw Press.

Elizabeth Robinson has been the recipient of grants from the Fund for Poetry and the Foundation for Contemporary Arts. Her book Pure Descent won the National Poetry Series in 2002, and Apprehend won the Fence Modern Poets Prize in 2003. Her most recent collection of poems is The Orphan & its Relations. Robinson co-edits EtherDome Chapbooks with Colleen Lookingbill and Instance Press with Beth Anderson and Laura Sims. She lives in Boulder, Colorado and teaches at Naropa University.

The winner of the Pavement Saw Chapbook Contest for 2008-09 was Brian Teare. In addition to winning $500, he will be given 50 copies of the collection. His chapbook will be published by Pavement Saw Press in a run of 435 copies by the end of 2009.

Brian Teare is the recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and MacDowell Colony. He has published poetry and criticism in American Poetry Review, Boston Review, Ploughshares, Provincetown Arts, St. Mark’s Poetry Project Newsletter, Seneca Review, Verse and VOLT, as well as in the anthologies Legitimate Dangers: American Poets of the New Century and At the Barriers: The Poetry of Thom Gunn. His first book, The Room Where I Was Born, won the 2003 Brittingham Prize and the 2004 Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry. His second book, Sight Map, is out from University of California Press; his third, Pleasure, will be published in 2010 by Ahsahta Press. He lives in San Francisco, where he teaches and makes books by hand for his micropress, Albion Books.

No comments: